The first Dynamic Syntax conference

Date: 19-20th April 2017

Location: SOAS University of London, London, UK

Meeting Description

Whilst there is broad consensus that humans process linguistic input in real time, the dynamics of this process are often not reflected in most formal accounts of linguistic knowledge. Dynamic Syntax (DS; Cann et al. 2005, Kempson et al. 2001, 2011) is a grammar formalism that aims to capture the parsing/production process in real-time. Under the Dynamic Syntax approach, linguistic knowledge is considered to be the ability to parse spoken language in context, whilst syntax is the constraint-based way in which representations of context can be built up from words encountered in a string.

We are pleased to announce that the first Dynamic Syntax conference will take place at SOAS University of London on 19-20th April 2017. The meeting will bring together those using DS in their research, as well as those who are interested in issues that lie at the heart of the theoretical approach.

The conference will also include a DS 'master class' providing an introduction to the framework, as well as the tools and mechanisms of analysis.

We are also delighted to announce that Professor Ruth Kempson will deliver the keynote address at the conference.

Call for Papers

We welcome papers directly employing the tools of Dynamic Syntax, as well as those that engage with issues relating to parsing-based approaches to the representation of natural language, incremental systems of grammar, and/or the syntax-semantics and syntax-pragmatic interfaces.

Abstract guidelines

Abstracts should be anonymous and no longer than 1 A4 page, including references. Submissions are limited to a maximum of one individual and one joint abstract per author. The deadline for submissions is 9th January 2017. We ask for abstracts to be sent in PDF or Word to Hannah Gibson ().

For additional information please contact Hannah Gibson ()


Hannah Gibson (SOAS University of London)

Jieun Kiaer (University of Oxford)

Lutz Marten (SOAS University of London)